Goat’s milk soap

In our family we have some members who suffer of very dry skin and eczema and for this reason I wanted to make some goat’s milk soap. Although we try to minimize animal products at home, this soap contains milk and honey… (this one is definitely not a vegan soap but castor oil have nothing to do with the animal fat of Castor sp. It comes from the plant of Ricinus communis.).

I made a lot of research before  starting, about how to treat the milk. We have a very small freezer and soon we won’t have any, so freezing the milk isn’t a very realistic option for me. I found the “room temperature” method described in some pages, but it seemed strange to me to mix the milk directly with the oils. So I decided to adapt this method to my preferences.

And here my “modus operandi“.

Image

Ingredients:

Olive oil 386 gr.

coconut oil 319 gr.

goat’s milk 205 gr.

water 150 gr.

sunflower oil 140 gr.

lye 138,2 gr.

Shea butter 106 gr.

castor oil 56 gr.

oats 4 table spoons

honey 1 table spoon

cinnamon 1 table spoon

essential oil 15 gr.

To begin I weighted all the ingredients and left apart the half of the Shea butter for the superfatting. Afterwards I melted my solid oils.

Image

Then I mixed the oils and added the lye solution (which was very concentrated, almost 50%)

.ImageImage

Mix well and stir with the blender (watch out with air bubbles!!).

Image

When the oils started to react with the lye I added the goat’s milk, that was so cold as possible.Image

When all the oils where perfectly incorporated and the mixture started to thicken:

Image

I added a spoonful of honey.

Image

And afterwards the Shea butter for the superfatting, the oats’ flour, and the cinnamon.

Image

Image

Trace came very, very quickly as you can see in the pics, and finally I added 15 grams of vanilla food “essence”. You can see how difficult it was to pour the soap into the mould.Image

I extended some oats over the soap for exfoliation and decoration.

Image

Here the mess (not such a lot as other times…).

Image

Removing the soap from the mould.

Image

To cut it, it is better to put the upper side with the oats at the bottom.

Image

And voilà! A bar cut with a crinkle cutter.

Image

I never take temperatures and I didn´t put any of my mixtures into an ice bath (I never have ice at home!!!), but I allowed oils and lye solution to cool down as much as possible, and when I added the milk it has been into the fridge since the night before. In the other hand, I think it’s a bad idea to put something warm or even hot inside the fridge, since it means a high energy expense. In this case, the dark tone of the soap comes from the vanilla essence. Milk didn´t scorch and didn´t stink at any point.

Leave a Reply

